Skip to content

HfH Guatemala: Day One

April 17, 2010

Today is really just a travel-and-coordination day. I fly from Seattle to Atlanta and meet up with my old friend John Crow. I could have flown direct from Seattle to Guatemala City, but what with needing to meet up with the rest of the group at a certain time (and the nasty red-eye or long-layover options required to make this happen), I decided it would be easier and more fun to simply meet John in Atlanta and travel with him and Rocio down south.

Unfortunately, I’m getting sick – I’ve been fighting it off, but I think one of my co-workers has passed on to me his recent illness, and now it’s time to travel. Guess I just have to soldier on… As we arrive at 40,000 ft. the pressure in my head has dropped and I can actually hear again (sorta) – only to have us descend and have the congestion come down like a lead-lined wave. Ugh – keep pushing DayQuil, Airborne, and anything else I can get my hands on…

TheNextLottoWinnerAnyway, I land in Atlanta and meet up with John. We head from the airport to a restaurant where a bunch of his friends have gathered to celebrate his upcoming birthday. They’re all friendly and warm folks and dinner is fun. Dinner down, we have to head to the TV studio where John works so he can do the nights drawings. John is the on-air lottery representative for the GA state lottery, MegaMillions, Powerball, and several other nationwide lottery drawings. It’s cool to see the studio layout and some of John’s co-workers, although the studio seems much more quiet and empty than I had expected; I guess that really shouldn’t be surprising seeing as how it’s 11:00 at night on a Friday, but it strikes me just the same.

By almost midnight, we’re done with the drawings and headed to John’s place – good thing, my head pounding with a vengeance and I need to travel again in the a.m. Crash – goodnight.

From → Travel

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

