Skip to content

Beer Blog? 1554 to start

May 20, 2011

I’ve been thinking for a while about blogging about my beer experiences. This is partially a purely selfish thing to track my thoughts about the beers I sample for future reference, and partially to share pointers to good beer info with my beer-loving friends. The (initial) format I’ll use will consist of three things:

1) Repeat consumption (yes/no answer to "Would I purchase this beer again?")

2) Overall Smurfyness (personal rating 1-10)

3) Brief impressions

Tonight’s beer:

1554 Enlightened Black Ale

Brewed and bottled by New Belgium Brewing, Fort Collins, CO

New Belgium Brewing: 1554 Enlightened Black Ale

My impression:

Repeat consumption? Yes

Smurfyness: 7

1554 is a dark brown ale, almost opaque, not too heavy or with a large aftertaste. Medium malty body and rich aroma with tiny coffee hints or even a minute bittersweet chocolate note. The alcohol content (5.6%) is apparent, but not off-putting or a big impact to flavor. Probably best with food – meat, starches, bread, or similar.

From → Beer

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

